Dementia Awareness Training

This NEW e-learning course is for all ‘front-line’ NHS Staff whose work brings them into contact with patients who have dementia. The learning raises awareness and understanding of the nature and scale of the challenge presented by dementia. The training also highlights the importance of early diagnosis of dementia and provision of support to carers and family members.

Learning Outcomes:

After completing the training, learners should:

  1. Be able to describe dementia
  2. Be able to consider the effect that dementia can have on a person’s feelings and emotions
  3. Know the symptoms of dementia
  4. Know there are different types of dementia
  5. Know the differences between dementia, depression and delirium.
  6. Understand the changes that can happen through the dementia journey
  7. Gain awareness of ‘person centred’ approaches.

Course Index:

Module 1 Dementia Awareness Training
Unit 1 (dat) Dementia Statistics
Unit 2 (dat) The National Dementia Strategy
Unit 3 (dat) Common Core Principles
Unit 4 (dat) The ‘Dementia Challenge’
Unit 5 (dat) What is dementia
Unit 6 (dat) Effects of dementia
Unit 7 (dat) What having dementia means
Unit 8 (dat) Causes of dementia
Unit 9 (dat) Who is at risk of suffering dementia?
Unit 10 (dat) Can dementia be prevented or delayed?
Unit 11 (dat) Types of dementia
Unit 12 (dat) Signs and symptoms of dementia
Unit 13 (dat) Diagnosing dementia
Unit 14 (dat) Dementia causes that can be reversed
Unit 15 (dat) The Dementia Journey
Unit 16 (dat) The Global Deterioration Scale
Unit 17 (dat) The 3 Stage Scale
Unit 18 (dat) Journey duration/timeline
Unit 19 (dat) Hospital admission is ‘high risk’ for people with dementia
Unit 20 (dat) Predictable effects of hospitalisation
Unit 21 (dat) Improving care for people with dementia on hospital wards
Unit 22 (dat) Action on admission to hospital
Unit 23 (dat) ‘This is Me’ Document
Unit 24 (dat) Information gathering - an inclusive approach
Unit 25 (dat) Information to patients, family members and carers
Unit 26 (dat) Information sharing
Unit 27 (dat) Involvement in decisions about care and treatment
Unit 28 (dat) A welcome ‘resource’ of practical help
Unit 29 (dat) Support for carers and family members
Unit 30 (dat) Delivering person-centred care
Unit 31 (dat) NICE guidelines [CG42]
Unit 32 (dat) Exam


To commence learning, click on the Course Index heading for Unit 1 (dat) Dementia Statistics. This will open the learning.

When you are ready to continue to Unit 2, use the button provided to mark Unit 1 as ‘Complete’. This will allow you to access Unit 2 and so on to the end of the course.

When you mark a Unit as ‘Complete’, a green tick will appear in the Course Index, producing a useful visual reminder as to your progress. It will not affect your ability to re-visit the training content.

Work your way through the ‘Modules’ by clicking the Unit titles in the Course Index.


There is a multiple-choice/true-false Exam at the end of the course (Unit 21).

There are 60 questions and you need to get at least 45 of them right (75%) in order to pass and qualify for a certificate.

There is no time limit to complete the Exam or to how many times the test can be taken.

So, keep going until you pass!


As soon as you have passed the Exam, you have qualified for a Certificate and will be able to download it immediately (.pdf).


Back to Profile